What I Ate Wednesday #4

1

March 15, 2012 by readytogetsweaty

What I ate Wednesday # 4

Happy Wonderful Wednesday!  Today is a wonderful day, isn’t it?  I may be biased as I am currently on the first leg of my trip to Puerto Rico.  I think I hinted I would be going to Puerto Rico in a post last week, but I’m not totally sure.  I’ve been up since 1:30am and working off and hour and a half of sleep, so bare with me a bit, mmmkay.  Thanks!  Oh and today is the first day that I’ve had coffee in over a week, so I may be a little over-caffeinated, so do not judge me if I am super peppy.  Again, thanks!

Anyway, right now I’m sitting at the airport in North Carolina starting at all my yummy eats from last week, wondering if I will be able to replicate any of them while away.  My first thought is no; however, I need to be optimistic.  I’ve read tons of posts about healthy eating while traveling over the last week, so I should be prepared, but we will see.

So back to the reason I’m headed to Puerto Rico.  Every year one of the research societies I belong to as part of my schooling/job/career holds an annual research conference.  This society, American Psychology and Law Society, is actually a division of the American Psychological Association (APA).  I’ve been going to these conferences since grad school and absolutely LOVE them.  Not only are the locations pretty great (Miami, Vancouver, San Diego, San Antonio), but getting together with everyone in my field and listening to the most up to date research is very exciting for me.  Again, I forewarned you that I am a research nerd, so no surprise here!  This year’s location just happens to be in Puerto Rico. Rough life, I know.  While I am here for “work” and have to present a paper on Friday, I am hoping to get at least a little beach time in.  I’m super nervous for this presentation; although I’m pretty sure I can pull it off.  I mean if not then I basically screw up in front of my bosses and potential schools of interest.  No pressure, right?!  Yeah.  I will be sure to keep you updated cause I know you are all sitting on the edge of your seats to find out how I do J.

Okay, so enough chit chat, back to today’s main event, WIAW.  This week featured some pretty yummy recipes and included a new recipe to me from my Happy Herbivore cookbook.  If you’ve never heard of this cookbook I suggest you take a look.

Sorry for my lack of GREEN this week!

Breakfast

Vegan Pancakes.  Even though I was really sick last week that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy homemade breakfasts.  I mean what else was I going to do while home sick all freakin week.  I found these Vegan Pancakes on a blog and am so glad I tried them.  [I feel horrible that I can't remember whose blog they were on, but trust me when I remember they will get credit.]  They were delicious and I plan on posting my revised version of the recipe this week – so keep an eye out.

AM Snack
Beetox Juice.  On Saturday, I met up with Heather (For the Love of Kale) at Wildflour local vegan bakery I absolute love.  While Heather and I chatted away we sipped on some delicious homemade juice mixes.  I had the Beetox mix which included beets, carrots, ginger and tons of other yummy veggies.  I think this blend may be my favorite.  On a side note, if you haven’t checked out For the Love of Kale yet, I suggest you do.

Lunch
Happy Herbivore “Tuna” Salad and Carrots.  Like I said before, this was my first time making something out of this cookbook.  This “tuna” salad was delicious and the dairy free cheese hit the spot.  I will definitely be making this again.

PM Snack
Post Workout Smoothie.  I don’t know about you, but after a long workout I love enjoying a tasty, ice cold smoothie.  This smoothie featured ½ of a frozen banana, frozen mixed berries, Sun Warrior Protein Powder, Zico ice cubes and almond milk.  This is a smoothie I will definitely be replicating in the near future.

Dinner
Ginger Scallion Tofu.  On Saturday my parents and I went to a local vegetarian/vegan restaurant, Veggie Heaven.  I choose the Ginger Scallion Tofu which was DELICIOUS.  The best part was how huge it was, I had three days worth of leftovers – SCORE.  My mom got the Hunan Beef and my dad chose the fried “shrimp.”  My poor dad thought he was actually going to be getting “real” shrimp and was VERY disappointed after his first bite into the “fake” shrimp.  I will definitely be going back to this restaurant, although I’m not sure my dad will.  Oh man, I wish I could have snapped a picture of his face, it was priceless!

Alright, so that is all for now, time to board the plane.  I hope you all have a fabulous Wednesday and I plan to post plenty of pictures of my adventures conference in Puerto Rico.

xo – Rachael

One thought on “What I Ate Wednesday #4

  1. Ahhh PR sounds amazing right now, despite the great weather we’ve been having here. today is the first day it’s been cloudy/in the 40s. good luck i know youll do great! i am craving pancakes now- yum!

Leave a Reply

