Walking, brunch, ice cream, coffee…oh my!

8

March 25, 2012 by readytogetsweaty

Good Morning, friends!  I hope your day is off to a great start.  Despite the pretty “crappy” weather today I’ve had a VERY productive day.  Let’s recap shall we…

I woke up at 7am  and instead of lounging around before my “running” date with Mallory, I decided I wanted to bake.  So I did just that.  I looked through my Happy Herbivore Cookbook and tried to find something I had all of the ingredients for, which ended up being Banana Bread – YUM.  Here is the end product with a bit of Earth Balance Natural Spread.  Oh and what better than a Chobani Peach yogurt to go with it.  It was the perfect pre-workout snack/meal.

After baking I organized my spice cabinet (WHO AM I?) and got a few more things done around the apartment before it was time to meet Mallory.

Now, today is the second time I’ve hung out with Mallory, who blogs at Have Your Cake …And Eat It Too.  This is one of the many reasons I love the blogging world.  Not only have I learned more about running, fitness and healthy eating in the past few months, but I’ve also made new friends.  I mean what more could a girl ask for?  So, this morning Mallory and I decided that we were going to run a few miles and then head to lunch – can’t think of a better way to spend a Sunday; running, food and new friends!  Now, let’s back up a few steps, shall we.  My knee was feeling pretty good this morning.  I iced it, stretched really well and did about 10 minutes of foam rolling.  Now, if you read Mallory’s blog (which you should do, so get on that) you would know that she too has an injury,  a calf sprain to be exact.  Right, Mallory ;)  We both started out at a good warm up pace of walking, I may have actually found someone who walks faster than I do, and then on lap two we both attempted about 10 steps of running and then decided that we would be walking the 4.8 miles.  So, us two gimps continued to loop around the park for another three laps.  We keep a really good pace and ended up walking a total of 4.8 miles in a little over an hour – not bad!

After our power walk… I’m calling it a power walk, hope you are okay with that…we had planned on hitting up EVO for some lunch.  EVO is a restaurant in downtown Worcester that serves vegan and vegetarian entrees.  I’ve lived / worked in Worcester for three years now and have never been, so I was pretty excited.  After perusing the menu and seeing all of the yummy eats coming out of the kitchen, we both decided on omelets.  (Side Note: I tried vegan for about two months, but after realizing I wasn’t allowing myself to get enough protein, I decided to add egg whites and greek yogurt back into my diet.  Now there are TONS of vegans I know that get all of the protein they need on a daily basis, however, until I really sit down and am able to plan out my menus egg whites and greek yogurt are back in my diet). 

This was the first time I’ve had an egg white omelet in 2 months and it was even better than I had remembered.  I finished out my meal with 7-grain toast with some peanut butter spread, YUM!  Oh and I didn’t even touch the fries on my plate – apparently they were out of home fries already – which I was very proud of myself for.  Overall, perfect post-workout meal.  I think Mallory would agree?

After our meal we headed to the health foods store attached to EVO, Living Earth.  As we were walking past the freezer section Mallory pointed out an ice cream she had heard about, but never seen in the grocery store; Arctic Zero   So naturally we each purchased one – Mallory got the Cookies and Cream and I picked up the Mint Chocolate flavor.  We didn’t expect much seeing as though each pint is only 150 calories and the first ingredient is purified water, but the product definitely intrigued us enough to purchase it.  We are keeping the price a secret, so don’t ask cause you don’t want to know!  Has anyone else ever tried this Arctic Zero ice cream?  If so, did you like it/dislike it? 

Next we headed to get some HOT coffee.  It’s about 45 degrees and rainy in Worcester today, our hands were still frozen from walking, and we both are coffee addicts.  Since Mallory had never been to Inhouse Coffee that’s where we went.  I love it there, so cozy and all their coffee flavors are real, no added syrups – LOVE!  We both ended up ordering the same coffee; Coconut Hazelnut.  As we were waiting for our coffee we had an idea to ask for spoons so that we could try our ice cream in the car – pathetic, I know.  Okay, so maybe it was my idea, but Mallory was totally for it!  While the spoon idea didn’t work out, the straw idea did.  Yes, we sat in my car, in the coffee shop parking lot, each eating a 150 calorie pint ice cream.  Are we a match made in heaven or what?  :)  Both of our ice creams were surprisingly tasty and I am pretty sure they will be consumed no later than 5pm today.  Just a hunch, lol.  I mean its only a 150 calories – come on now!

All I can say is what a morning!  I had SO much fun with Mallory and can’t wait until we get together next – which is hopefully sooner rather than later.

I hope you all have a wonderful Sunday and enjoy it before heading back to work tomorrow.

xo – Rachael

8 thoughts on “Walking, brunch, ice cream, coffee…oh my!

  1. Mallory says:

    Haha I love this post so much!! We are the epitome of classy with our plastic straws lmao. I look like such a goof. We will be able to run together eventually! I know you’ll be better by your race! And me… Umm who knows lol. Can’t wait to get together again soon!!! :)

  2. I tried commenting on this before but idk what happened so I am commenting again just because i LOVE THIS POST so much haha!!! Btw I look like such a GOOF in those pics! LOL love it. youre right, the ice cream didnt last… I ate 2/3 of the pint already but got so cold (i swear it is colder than regular ice cream?!) that i had to stop. love our straws, we are the epitome of classy bloggers! i had so much fun too and cant wait to get together again SOON! :)

  3. That restaurant sounds cool! And I LOVE Arctic Zero! Cookies and cream is my favorite flavor!

  4. [...] Post navigation ← Walking, brunch, ice cream, coffee…oh my! [...]

  5. [...] she looked familiar.  After racking my brain, I finally figured it out.  Kristen attended the Blogger Brunch hosted by Samantha back in March.  Small world, [...]

Leave a Reply

Sweaty Girl

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 394 other followers

Healthy Living Blogger

