What I Ate Wednesday #6

3

March 28, 2012 by readytogetsweaty

Ah, I can’t believe I’m already at WIAW #6.  I’m very proud of myself for holding on this long and keeping myself accountable by blogging.  If you read the About Me section, you would know that keeping myself accountable was my main reason for starting this blog.  I think its been working out pretty well so far – I mean I have readers now!  It’s definitely the small things :).So quick knee update before getting to this weeks main event.  If you remember I’ve been having some knee pain for the past two weeks.  I tried to run on Sunday, however, the pain was too much.  I took off Monday and took a MBB Arms and Abs class and then tried again yesterday.  Well, I. WAS. SUCCESSFUL!  I was able to follow my training schedule and run my “recovery” run of 5 miles.  Yesterday during my run I noticed a few things though…

1.  It hurts more when I run slower.  This sounds weird to me, but when I run at 5.2 I have pain and then it starts to decrease the faster I go (e.g., 5.8 – 6.3).  I’m not quite sure what is going on, so if anyone has an explanation please share!

2.  The first 2.5 to 3.0 miles are a struggle, but once I get past 3 I am good to go.  Does this happen to anyone else that isn’t injured?  I feel like this wasn’t always the case for me, but I am certainly welcoming it since I have 6 miles tonight.  Knee is doing good right now and the plan is to stretch, foam roll and ice before the gym…fingers are crossed :)

Okay, so now the main reason for today’s post…FOOD!

If you aren’t participating in WIAW I suggest you should – its pretty great [just saying].  Head over to Peas and Crayons for more information if I already haven’t convinced you to participate :)

Breakfast
Oatmeal happened again [maybe a few times] this week. I actually tried overnight oats for the first time.  I was a little nervous about this, but they turned out to be DELICIOUS [sorry for the bad pic]!  I used the recipe from Bess Be Fit.

I also made some homemade Banana Bread and paired it with a Chobani.  Again, another delicious breakfast.

And lets not forget my amazing egg white omelet from EVO.  I enjoyed this baby on Sunday with Mallory.

AM Snack
I’ve been pretty boring this week and eating an orange for my AM snack everyday.  Yes, everyday.

Lunch
I’ve had some pretty exciting salads this past week.

PM Snack
Since I started to eat some diary again, Chobani has been showing up ALL over the place.  I’ve enjoyed a few of these [the Chobani's NOT the Sam Adams (I swear)] over the past few days :)

Dinner
Last week I received my very first foodie penpalpackage.  It included TONS of wonderful things, which I will be posting about on Thursday, but one item I was so excited to use, pickled mushrooms.  I used them the same day they arrived in the mail and everyday thereafter.  They are even in the quesadilla below.  They are SOO freakin good and smell amazing – don’t you wish you could scratch and sniff right about now.  Okay, maybe not, but you get the idea.

What have been some of your favorite eats this past week?

xo – Rachael

3 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday #6

  1. Congrats on your 6th WIAW! :)

    I finally bought oranges at the store and I have been LOVING them this week!

  2. Bess says:

    Food looks awesome! Thanks for the shoutout :) glad you liked the oats!

Leave a Reply

