Work AND Fun in Puerto Rico

2

April 3, 2012 by readytogetsweaty

Well, Happy Tuesday, dear friends!  I hope you all got to / get to enjoy the gorgeous weather today.  It’s actually 55 here in MA, the warmest we’ve had the past week :).

Quick doctors appointment recap before telling you all about Puerto Rico…

Let’s just say things didn’t go quite as planned, although I’m not sure I really had anything planned other than her saying, “Rachael you are good to go!”  Anyway, once I got into the  room, she played around with my knee (pushing it, pulling it, bending it…you get the idea) and then said to me, “I have no idea what is wrong with your knee.”  Great, right?!  I have an appointment with an orthopedic surgeon on the 16th, so hopefully I will get some answers then.  She couldn’t even recommend me to physical therapy or anything because she said it doesn’t fit anything she has ever dealt with…there’s no extra fluid, no soreness when you touch it, it’s not swollen.  So, it looks like I’ll just have to wait it out I guess – not ideal, but I’ll get over it.  Until my apt on the 16th I’m not going to run, no matter how my knee feels.  I really don’t want to risk hurting it even more, especially since I have no idea what is wrong with it yet.  So, I am going to stick to the bike, elliptical and strength training my legs, which she recommended.

This cartoon depicts EXACTLY what went on at today’s appointment.  At least I’m finding some humor in it :)

Okay, now on to the FUN stuff.  Two weeks ago I went to San Juan, Puerto Rico for a conference. Every year one of the research societies I belong to as part of my schooling/job/career holds an annual research conference.  This society, American Psychology and Law Society, is actually a division of the American Psychological Association (APA).  I’ve been going to these conferences since grad school and absolutely LOVE them.  Not only are the locations pretty great (Miami, Vancouver, San Diego, San Antonio), but getting together with everyone in my field and listening to the most up to date research is very exciting for me.  NERD – I know :).  This conference was a bit different because I actually had to work.  I had to present and then volunteer during most of the conference, which left very little time for sightseeing.  That part sucked, I will admit it.  I’ve put together a few of the pictures from my trip and figured I would only interject every so often, so you could really capture the beauty of the pictures without me jabbering along.  ENJOY!

These pictures are from the inside of our first hotel – Conrad San Juan Hotel.  It was such a fun room and the bathroom was amazing!

These are from the outside of the same hotel and a picture of my best friend, Kelci, and I during dinner at the Eight Noodle Bar where we enjoyed some sushi.

The next day we had to walk across a bridge to get to our other hotel – the hotel where the conference was actually taking place – San Juan Puerto Rico Caribe Hilton.  Kelci is deathly afraid of  bridges and ran ALL the way across.  It was probably a good quarter of a mile in 80 degree weather :)

Here are some pictures taken around the outside of our hotel.  These pictures are courtesy of Kelci as I was inside working while she enjoyed laying in the sun and walking around taking pictures for me.

Here is proof that we were at the conference…

And of course we had a group dinner.

And learned about the origin of the pina colada, which we had to try.

The piña colada was created on August 16, 1954 at the Caribe Hilton’s Beachcomber Bar in San Juan, Puerto Rico [OUR HOTEL] by its alleged creator, Ramón “Monchito” Marrero. Apparently, the hotel management had expressly requested Monchito to mix a new signature drink that would delight the demanding palates of its star-studded clientele. Monchito accepted the challenge, and after three intense months of blending, shaking and experimenting, the first piña colada was born.  (Source)

And we the next night we took part in celebrating St. Patty’s Day with one of these.

Phew, wasn’t that fun.  I really hope to go back some day and explore the beautiful city.  Until then I can stare at this last picture, which just happens to be my favorite, and remember the fun we did have.

xo - Rachael

2 thoughts on “Work AND Fun in Puerto Rico

  1. stephsnacks says:

    I’m sorry about your knee! But you’re right, you need to just rest it — it’s better to heal than make it worse for sure. Howeverrrrr those pictures of PR are making me incredibly jealous!!

  2. Thanks and they are actually making me jealous too and I was there , lol. My best friend came back with all these pictures on my camera and I was like “seriously…”

Leave a Reply

