TGI…Friday

Leave a comment

April 6, 2012 by readytogetsweaty

…enough said, right?! 

For those of you who have off today, I am extremely jealous!  All throughout my childhood I had off on Good Friday – one of the many perks of going to a Catholic school.  However, in the adult world, I’m not so lucky.  Oh well!

So yesterday was ANOTHER great back to basics food bootcamp day. 

I started with my TIU Protein Pancake, for which I have now perfected :)  Sometimes its the little things my friends!  I then chowed down on this salad for lunch [kale, shredded carrots and cucumbers, sunflower seeds, cranberries, and Happy Herbivore "Tuna Salad"]. 

Let’s just say it was SO good I’m replicating it for today’s lunch. 

I also had an amazing workout yesterday, 6.20 miles on the elliptical for 55 minutes.  Since I’m  not running, I’m trying to keep my cardio going with elliptical training.  I’ve done quite a bit of article reading that supports elliptical work for injured runners during training because it provides an aerobic workout without the impact of running, reducing the stress on the joints of the body.  It also gives the body a break from high impact activity – exaclty what my knee needs right now.  Now while the elliptical provides a great alternative to running during injury or for cross training days, it is by no means a true substitute for running.  With that being said, I am going to experiment this weekend.  I am going to try my long run [I haven't run since last Friday] to see if I can at least get my knee through that and then train with the elliptical during the week.  I’ll be careful, I promise, and if my knee just can’t handle it then of course I will STOP.  I’m definitely committed to training, but not stupid! 

And if keeping on track and my workout weren’t enough to put me in a good mood; the foodie penpals e-mail went out yesterday AND Tone It Up released their new DVD series, Beach Babe.  Check it out!

Okay, I’ve got a lot of work to do before heading home to New Jersey this afternoon.  I hope you all have a wonderful Friday!

xo – Rachael

Leave a Reply

Sweaty Girl

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 393 other followers

Healthy Living Blogger

