Jumping on the PT bandwagon

7

April 24, 2012 by readytogetsweaty

Well folks it looks like I’ll be jumping on the PT bandwagon. 

It seems like everyone that’s had an injury lately has headed to PT and now it’s my turn too.

Yesterday I had a follow-up appointment with the Orthopedic Surgeon to go over my MRI.  As soon as he put up the picture of the MRI he should have taken out his sticker book and plopped on a few of these…

because that’s exactly what my MRI looked like – A+ teacher approved perfect!  A normal person would think YES, this is great news!  Well, not this girl.  As he showed me all of my muscles (he even showed me where Tom Brady’s knee injury was (seriously, who cares and I am NOT a Tom Brady fan at all! – anyways…) and how nice  and smooth they were I could feel myself start to tear up.  We talked about a couple of options and finally decided that I would try 6 weeks of physical therapy first.  If my knee doesn’t get better in six weeks time or it gets worse during physical therapy then I go back in and talk about the other options (one of them being surgery, boo).

Obviously this follow-up appointment was not at all what I had hoped it would be, but  hey what can ya do, right?!  I haven’t said out loud that I won’t be running the Broad Street Run, actually this is the first time I’ve actually acknowledged it.  I mean unless PT works a miracle this week and I douse my leg in bio freeze and take tons of anti-inflammatories, I don’t see myself running 10 miles let alone walking 1 mile (which I had A LOT of trouble with this weekend!).  So, I already have a PT appointment scheduled for tomorrow (Wednesday) morning at 8am – I don’t mess around when it comes to making doctors appointments! :)  My fingers are crossed that this initial appointment goes well.  Physical therapy has worked wonders for my knees in the past when I went for patella tendonitis, so I am really hoping they can at least pin point where some of my pain is coming from.

I’m so glad I waited until today to post this because had I last night I’m sure it would have been a hot mess, just like I was!

Alright, its back to work for this girl.  I hope you all have a terrific Tuesday!

xo – Rachael

7 thoughts on “Jumping on the PT bandwagon

  1. JessSutera says:

    Ugh. Hang in there. I really hope the PT helps and helps FAST!

  2. Michelle says:

    PT has worked wonders on my knee. In fact, I still do my home PT exercises regularly and it’s been almost a year since I’ve hurt myself!

  3. [...] things we put on our feet have the ability to make or break a run and at times our feet and legs.  I can’t emphases enough how important it is to get assessed for the right kind of [...]

  4. [...] on my 30 Day Challenge.  About three weeks ago I started to run pretty regularly again since my injury.  Last week I even got to 12 miles in 7 days – I haven’t done that since I [...]

  5. [...] Street Run.  This is the same run I was registered for and had to pull out of last year due to my knee injury.  I’ve been slacking on my long runs (hell, runs in general) and really need to pull myself [...]

Leave a Reply

