TIU Race Challenge

3

May 1, 2012 by readytogetsweaty

Everyday, as part of the Bikini Challenge, Tone It Up challenges us to complete a task.  Most days its a new workout, while other days its drinking 1/2 our body weight in water, making new vision boards, etc.  Yesterday’s challenge was pretty fun and exciting.  They challenged us to sign up for a race, any race – charity, The Color Runs, Mudd Runs, a 5k, a 10k, or even a marathon.  Sounds great, right? My thoughts exactly.

I’ve never heard of a Color Run, so immediately I checked it out.

“The Color Run is a one of a kind experience that is less about speed and more about enjoying a color crazy day with your friends and family. Our events, are all about people of all different speeds, ages, shapes, and sizes toeing the start line. You will love this Color Dash of fun! Each kilometer of the event is associated with a designated color.  1k is yellow, 2k is blue, 3k is green, 4k is pink, and the 5k finish is a “Color Extravaganza.”  As the runners/walkers hit the Kilometer COLOR RUN Zones, they will be blitzed by our volunteers, sponsors, and staff with COLOR.  The color is a special “elf made” recipe of magical color dust.”

Running, friends, getting painted in rainbow colors –

SIGN ME UP!

Last night a couple TIU girls expressed interested in participating and after taking a look at the homepage I too was ready to GO.  Registration isn’t open yet for the NYC location, but I  most certainly signed myself up to receive a notification e-mail when it does.  Monday’s challenge – check!

Back in September I participated in a 5k Mud Run with my brother and friend Samantha.  I wrote a post about it on my old blog, but it never transferred over, so here are some highlights…

I recruited my brother and a friend to participate with me.  It didn’t take much to talk them both into it, especially after I told my brother I would pay for him to run in the mud.  Wouldn’t you be psyched to have someone pay you to run in the mud J?!  The particular run we signed up for was the Merrell Down and Dirty 5K Mud Run – Operation Gratitude.  It was a three mile off-road course filled with 8 military like obstacles, commanding cargo climbs, wild water crossings, mud, mud and yes more mud.  Also, throughout the course there were military personnel yelling cheering you on.

This is what we looked like at the start of the race.  Don’t we look all nice and clean?

Well it only took two and a half miles before we looked more like this.  We were dirtier; however, they had us run through the ocean, which helped to clean off all of the mud we had caked on us during the first two and a half miles.  

 

And then the last obstacle was the mud pit.  You had to go through this pit on your stomach or else you were yelled at – no joke, can’t you see them yelling, cheering us on?!

So,of course we got on our bellies and treaded through the mud pit and ended up looking like this J.

We all had SO much fun and couldn’t stop talking about what we were going to do next. 

Has anyone completed in the Couch to 5K or Bridge to 10K? 

Has anyone particpated in a Mud Run?

xo – Rachael

3 thoughts on “TIU Race Challenge

  1. I signed up for the Color Run here in Virginia! It’s not til July, but I’m excited!

  2. [...] been a bit hard as I’ve lost a lot of my endurance.  Remember I had just started running in September 2011, and had only gotten up to 8 miles in my training for the Broad Street Run.  So having 2 and a [...]

Leave a Reply

Sweaty Girl

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 394 other followers

Healthy Living Blogger

