What’s in your gym bag?

10

August 16, 2012 by readytogetsweaty

I’m trying this new thing, going to the gym right after work instead of stopping by my apartment first to get changed.  I’ve tried this in the past, but it never really stuck because I never seemed to like what I packed – what can I say, sometimes I’m difficult.  Anyway, last night was a reminder of why I shouldn’t pack anything, let alone gym clothes, at 5am.  I FORGOT SOCKS!  This isn’t the first time, but it will surely be the last.  Since 3 miles was on the agenda I knew I needed some socks.  So I ran (okay, drove) to Walmart, picked up a 10 pack and got right back to the gym.

So yesterday’s fiasco got me thinking, “What should I be keeping in my gym bag?,” What do other people keep in their gym bag?”  As much as I’d like to go snooping gym bags at my gym (NOT), I figured I’d reach out to you all.

Here’s what is already in my gym bag…

- I’ve got socks thanks to my Walmart trip where I stocked up!

- I’ve got Nuun.  So necessary for hydration before, during and after long or hard workouts.

- Then there’s some essential pre, during and post snacks.  Right now I’ve got Cliff Shot Bloks, a Luna Protein Bar, and a couple mini Clif bars.

- I’ve also got some face cleaner wips.

- Oh and you can’t forget the hair bands, bobby pins and headbands.  I still don’t have a sparkly soul headband.  I know, I know, I gotta get on that.

- And a couple other essentials like deodaurant, body spray, etc.

What are some essential items in your gym bag?

xo – Rachael

P.S. I’ll be attending the Health Living Summit Friday – Sunday (as if you already didn’t know), so expect some fun posts, tweets (@ready2getsweaty), etc.  I’m going to try and post daily recaps, but we’ll see how that goes.

10 thoughts on “What’s in your gym bag?

  1. Lauren says:

    I have to go to the gym directly from work – if I stop at home there is between a 0% and 1% chance that I will actually go! I am pretty basic what I keep in my bag: socks, shoes, plastic bags (to put shoes/ clothes in), water bottle, HRM, advil, and my iPod. I should definitely start keeping snacks in my gym bag.

  2. Michelle says:

    I need a gym bag…I normally just throw everything in my longchamp which also holds my work stuff and the contents of my purse…so disorganized!

  3. Sofie says:

    I’m kind of new to the whole gym-deal, only started this year after 27 years of thinking a walk is enough exercise. But I have grown to love it and now I’m at gym 3-5 days a week and I go for a jog 5 days a week in the mornings. I’m just curious when you say that you pack essential pre, during and post snacks in your bag, is it a good thing to snack in the middle of a workout?

    – Sofie

    • I’m not one to snack during regular workouts, but when I’m running more than 5-6 miles I usually have a little fuel during my workout. I stick to the gels, jelly beans or Clif blocks. Other people could run 13+ miles with nothing until they are done. It really all depends on what you need during your workout. I also find that when I drink Zico or have Nuun in my water during my workout I don’t need any fuel during the longer runs. Hope this helps!

  4. Becky says:

    I guess the first thing I would need is a gym. :O Qtperky

  5. [...] drinking some water (with Nuun – thank goodness I keep this in my gym bag!) I jumped right back in as Kristen had us doing glutes and abs. (Photo Borroed from [...]

Leave a Reply

Sweaty Girl

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 394 other followers

Healthy Living Blogger

