THE COLOR RUN

9

August 30, 2012 by readytogetsweaty

This past Saturday I participated in the ever so popular “the happiest 5k on the planet.”  Yes, this is the tagline for the COLOR RUN.

Consider this your warning – there are A LOT of pictures to follow :)

Last month I told you that I had signed up and joined the “Just Keep Sweating” color run team (with Carlyn, Lauren and Gina).  Since signing up in June, I’ve been counting down the days and really can’t believe it’s already over!

Since the run was in NY, I headed to my parents house Thursday night and worked from home (well, NYC on Friday).

Of course there was a fro-yo stop not even 3 hours after arriving in NJ :).  Nothing like a little sibling bonding while enjoying some delish fro-yo from Yogurtland.  I got dairy-free strawberry lemon and coconut topped with strawberries, black berries, raspberries and a sprinkle of carob chips.  Yogurtland is my favorite self-serve fro-yo, hands down.

On Friday, I got up at 4:30 and took the bus into the city with my dad.  I’m so jealous of his work location, not so jealous of the commute!

During the day I picked up my race packet :)

and read Carlyn’s post about her run prep.  After reading I shared with my mom, who in turn walked out of the drug store later with some goodies for me.

On Saturday morning at 5am my parents and I got in the car, stopped at Dunkin (yuk) for iced coffee – Starbucks wasn’t open – and headed to Brooklyn.  Now that I know my parents read my blog I would like to thank them, again, for waking up at 4am on a Saturday and driving my butt to Brooklyn :) You are the BEST!!!

We arrived a little early, which was perfect.  It gave me enough time to take pictures, of course, and meet up with the rest of the team so we could head over to the starting line together.

PRE Run

Clean sweaty (Carlyn) girls…

Walking to the starting line…

1st Wave (1,000 people with 7,000 more behind us – CRAZY!)

After waiting in line for about 30 minutes, with plenty of music (Call me maybe?) and fun, it was time to get colored!!!

There were four different stations set up about every half mile.  I think this is what made the 3 miles go by so quickly, the fact that every 1/2 mile we were being colored.  The color stations were…YELLOW – RED – BLUE – PINK!

It was great to see so many families participate also.  There were people walking, running, jogging, skipping, singing, laughing, and overall just having fun.  It really was the “happiest 5k!!”

We all ran the 3 miles, but of course stopped in between to take pics!

Excuse my scrunched up face…I’m sure I was in the middle of laughing at something :)

And as we rounded the corner to the finish line, I was able to snap a pic of a new wave starting.  Don’t they all look so clean ;)

And of course the paparazzi my parents were there to catch us dancing crossing the finish line.

And then there were of course group pics.  I look pretty clean, not sure how that happened.

There were tons of tents set up around the main stage, which of course I made my way through.  Free coconut water - COME TO ME!

My dad scored a free Color Run shirt while walking around taking pictures.  It was a little to white for me, which I had no trouble fixing ;)

And of course I had to clean myself up before getting in the car.  My mom came prepared with towels and wipes – thanks MOM!

I love the video my dad was able to take while I was cleaning up.  It really was so cool to see the color just explode in front of your eyes.  I opted out of standing in the pit this year, but next year I can’t promise anything!  Sorry, but I’m not too sure how to add it into my post…It may be something additional I have to pay for?

All in all, this really was the “happiest 5k” I’ve ever run.  If I could have people throwing color at/on me during all of my runs, it sure would make those long runs go by a lot faster.

Until next year…

Mom and Dad – Next year’s christmas photo?

xo – Rachael

9 thoughts on “THE COLOR RUN

  1. That sounds so fun! There is a color run here in Richmond in September and I have some friends doing it!! I think it’s full, otherwise I would sign up!

  2. jobo says:

    that looks so fun! keeps your mind off the actual miles hehe ;)

  3. Michelle says:

    This looks like so much fun! I need to do this next year when it comes back to my city!

  4. [...] Fro-Yo (only the best) and Sushi (we had some great [...]

  5. Danielle says:

    so fun!!! it’s getting me pumped for the graffiti run I’m doing in a few weeks. colour love!

  6. Jossie says:

    Do you know where it is this year? I would really like to sign up with a few of my friends, Do you need a group to participate? How many can Sign up? Is there an age you have to be in order to sign up? Cause i’ll be 13 in march?

Leave a Reply

Sweaty Girl

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 393 other followers

Healthy Living Blogger

