August Foodie Penpals

4

August 31, 2012 by readytogetsweaty

It is the LAST day of August – woohoo!  I am psyched for fall and even more excited that September is only a few hours away.  These past few mornings have been heavenly.  I love waking up to a slight breeze coming through the windows and extra crisp air when first walking outside.  I’m smiling just thinking about fall while writing this post.  Fall also brings pumpkin flavors (I may be slightly obsessed), sweat shirts, football (which has already started, SCORE),

Pic from pre-season Eagles vs. Patriots – WE WON :)

colored leaves, and perfect running weather.  Ahh I can’t wait :)

Okay – now that I’m done professing my love for fall, I guess it’s time to get to what this post is really about, FOODIE PENPALS.

______________________________________________________________________

First off, if you aren’t already participating in Foodie Penpals, I suggest you head on over to Lindsay’s page and sign up.  Every month she does a great job making Christmas come every month for all those participating. It really is like Christmas when you get your package.  I especially love when what’s inside is nicely wrapped in tissue paper ;)

This month I received my package from ….

I knew I was in for a treat as soon as I received Natalie’s (Southern Fit Foodie) e-mail.  She asked me fun questions (If I drank alcohol, what my top 5 favorite foods were, and what my favorite cooking magazine was) that I’ve never had anyone ask before.

My package arrived while I was in Boston for the HLS.  So, as you can imagine, I was super excited to come home to even more goodies :)

Let’s see what Natalie sent, shall we.

As soon as I saw the wine bottle topper a wide smile may have come across my face ;)

Danielle Pineapple Crisps - I’ve never had these before, but boy they were good.

That’s It Bars - I’ve seen these in the grocery store, but haven’t tried they yet, so I was really excited to see them included in my box.  I can’t wait to give them a try.  Apparently fruit is the only ingredient?!

Fig Bars with Dark Chocolate – I’ve actually never seen or heard of these bars before.  I’m kind of intrigued.  Has anyone tried them yet?

Clean Eating Magazine – SO excited to try some of the recipes :)

Tasty Thai – I love peanut sauces so I can’t wait to give this a try.  I may substitute out the white rice though for some quinoa!

Wine goodies – I’ve always wanted my own wine charms.  I’ve used them at friend’s houses before, but they were never something that I bought for myself.  I can’t wait to pour a glass of wine now, use my charm and the wine topper. Oh that all sounds so fancy!

I loved absolutely everything in this box.  You were spot on Natalie, thank you!

Head on over to Brooke’s page to see what goodies I sent her.  Hint: Her goodies may have included chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting!

xo – Rachael

_____________________________________________________________________

Now, if you haven’t joined Foodie Penpals yet here are the details:

On the 5th of the month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.

You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!

The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imaginatio!!

You are responsible for figuring out the best way to ship your items depending on their size and how fragile they are. (Don’t forget about flat rate boxes!)

Foodie Penpals is open to blog readers as well as bloggers. If you’re a reader and you get paired with a blogger, you can choose to write a short guest post for your penpal to post on their blog about what you received. If two readers are paired together, neither needs to worry about writing a post for that month.

Foodie Penpals is open to US, Canadian residents & UK residents.  Please note, Canadian Residents will be paired with other Canadians only. We’ve determined things might get too slow and backed up if we’re trying to send foods through customs across the border from US to Canada and vice versa. So, I’m going to keep two separate lists and match US w/ US and Canada w/ Canada!

 

4 thoughts on “August Foodie Penpals

  1. I’m so glad you liked it! Enjoy your wine!!!! :)

  2. Linz says:

    I love the idea of putting magazines in there! Great way to recycle old mags, plus who doens’t love to read clean recipes??

  3. Danielle says:

    everything looks so good! especially those pineapple chips :).

Leave a Reply

Sweaty Girl

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 393 other followers

Healthy Living Blogger

