September and Wellness [Update 1]

6

September 16, 2012 by readytogetsweaty

I can’t believe it’s already time to give you guys an update on my September Goals and 8 Weeks to Wellness Challenge.  It feels like I was just sitting down getting ready to write about it, and now one week has already come and gone.

Okay, first update – September Goals.

Meal Planning – I did really well sticking to my meals this past week.  I only ended up spending $9.65 at Trader Joe’s last Sunday buying groceries for the week – thanks to meal planning and using what I already had on hand.  I was tempted only once to pick up something on the way home from work, but them remembered all I had to do was heat up leftovers for dinner – time and money saver.  This week’s menu is going to look a little different due to some Pinterest finds this past week.  I also need to figure out how to fit in more protein filled dinners on the nights I have MBB.  This past week I relied heavily on bars and raw veggies; easy, but not so filling.

This week’s menu looks something like this…

Weekly Workouts - I love fall, but hate the allergies that come with it.  My earlier workouts this week suffered a bit due to allergies, but I managed to make up for it later in the week.  What I actually did is in italics.

September 10th – 16th
Monday – 2mi run and Barre Arms and Abs 3 mile walk & MBB Arms and Abs
Tuesday – 20min HIIT & Legs Rest Day
Wednesday – Active Rest Day Rest Day
Thursday – 2mi run and Total Body Workout (Tone It Up) 3.5 mile run 
Friday – Elliptical and Bikini Abs (Tone It Up) 4 mile run
Saturday – 3mi run and Barre  3 mile walk & MBB Pound 
Sunday – 2mi run and Barre 2 mile run @ MBB Barre

I noticed that most days I wasn’t always motivated to run (weird!), so I’m changing this weeks plans to just say cardio, that way I have the option of biking, stair climbing or even the elliptical.  You will also notice that I’ve taken out the extra toning moves.  This week I can make it to MBB Barre classes four days, so I’m going to do 6 days of Cardio and 4 days of strength training.

September 17th – 23rd
Monday – Cardio
Tuesday – Cardio and MBB Barre
Wednesday – Active Rest Day
Thursday - Cardio and MBB Barre
Friday - Cardio
Saturday – Cardio and MBB Barre
Sunday - Cardio and MBB Barre

8 Weeks to Wellness Update

Well I did it.  I completed the first week of the challenge.  There are so many things going on in this challenge, so this week I took the time to get some of them under my belt; 10,000 steps and calories and daily food intake.

  • 10,000 Steps

Wow, this is something I thought was going to be relatively easy to accomplish on a daily basis.  However, on the days I hadn’t planned on running I found getting the 10,000 steps really difficult.  Here’s what I ended up with at the end of each day this week…

  • Counting Calories & Daily Food Intake

Counting calories is nothing new to me.  I’ve done it in the past and had a lot of success.  I don’t view it as something negative or restricting, but rather as a guide to help keep myself on track with how much protein, carbs, fiber, etc I’m fueling my body with on a daily basis.  It also helps me with overeating.  If I have to write it down and know that it is going to be seen by others, I am less likely to put that spoon back in the peanut butter jar or take that extra bite of ice cream.

The only day I struggled with this was Friday.  Friday was a really bad day – I was emotional, frustrated and extremely overwhelmed.  I hit my limit with frustrations at work and my 4 mile run did nothing to relieve my stress.  So eating happened.  I’m not happy about it at all, but it was one day out of 7.  I didn’t dwell on it too much and was happy I was able to move on Saturday morning.

Some things I plan on focusing more on this week:

  • Journaling

Now that I’ve got the 10,000 steps down (on most days) and counting calories I’m going to try to up my journaling this week.  I’m mainly stuck with quotes and little thoughts this past week.

  • Book Club

I’m also going to attend the weekly challenge weekly book club on Tuesday.  We are reading You Can Heal Your Life by Louise Hay.  I purchased the book on Friday and can’t wait to start it tomorrow.

Alright, well that concludes my updates for this week.  I’ve got some cool stuff planned this week, so stay tuned.  There may even be another pumpkin recipe coming your way!  Did you check out the Pumpkin Cinnamon Raisin Protein Pancakes yet?  If not, you should, they are SOO good!

Have a great rest of the weekend!

xo – Rachael

6 thoughts on “September and Wellness [Update 1]

  1. great job on the steps! and less than 10 dollars on groceries! Man I need to do what your doing! Keep up the great work!

  2. jobo says:

    Awesome job on the meal planning, wow, that’s awesome! And getting your steps in, it IS eye opening isn’t it? Glad you rolled with the punches with your workouts and hope the allergies subside! As for calorie counting, I am clearly on the same page as you! It is an awesome guide and totally helps quell mindless eating! good job!! (and good not to dwell! sometimes it happens!)

  3. Dang girl, you’re doing amazing! I need to have you come meal plan for me ;) haha one of my goals is to take more leftovers for lunch! I’m doing better! :)

    I’m sad we couldn’t meet up when I was in your neck of the woods, but hopefully our paths will cross soon!

  4. I really need to start planning my meals more carefully. On days when I’m on campus all day and have to pack multiple meals, I do pretty well. It’s those days when I get home early and have no idea what to make (and am already exhausted) that bad things happen. I’ve also never tried planning my week of workouts aside from half marathon training, so that might be something to look into too.

    Great post! Good luck this week. :-)

  5. [...] as though I’m back on track with the 8 Weeks to Wellness Challenge and my goals during this challenge, I thought it would be fun to update you on how this past [...]

Leave a Reply

